### NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

### **DECISION SHEET**

Meeting of the Council held as a This will be a Virtual Meeting on Thursday, 27th August, 2020 at 7.30 pm

# 1 WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION

The Chair welcomed everyone to this virtual Council meeting that was being conducted with Members and Officers at various locations, communicating via audio/video and online. There was also the opportunity for the public and press to listen and view proceedings.

The Committee, Member and Scrutiny Manager undertook a roll call to ensure that all Members and Officers could hear and be heard and gave advice regarding the following:

- Live Streaming;
- Noise Interference;
- Rules of Debate;
- Voting;
- Part 2 Items.

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Terry Tyler started the meeting proper.

# 2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Kay Tart.

### 3 CHAIR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

# (1) Recording

The Chair advised that, in accordance with Council policy. this meeting was being audio recorded as well as filmed. The audio recordings would be available to view on Mod.gov and the film recording via the NHDC Youtube channel.

# (2) Climate Emergency

Members were reminded that this Council has declared a Climate Emergency. This is a serious decision and meant that, as this was an emergency, all of us, officers and Members had that in mind as we carried out our various roles and tasks for the benefit of our District.

# (3) Declarations of Interest

Members were reminded to make declarations of interest before an item, the detailed reminder about this and speaking rights was set out under Chair's Announcements on the agenda.

# (4) Rules of Debate

The Chair reminded Members that the normal procedure rules in respect of debate and times to speak would apply:

No speeches may be made after the mover had moved a proposal and explained the purpose of it until the motion had been seconded.

When seconding a motion or amendment, a Member may reserve their speech until later in the debate.

In accordance with the Constitution Members should ensure that no speech exceeded five minutes without the consent of the Chair.

# (5) Motions

In order to clarify matters for Members, in accordance with the Council's Constitution:

Only one amendment may be moved and discussed at any one time. No further amendment may be moved until the amendment under discussion had been decided.

If an amendment was not carried, other amendments to the original motion may be moved.

If an amendment was carried, the motion as amended would take the place of the original motion. This would become the substantive motion to which any further amendments are moved.

After an amendment had been carried, the Chair may, if requested, read out the amended motion before accepting any further amendments, or if there were none, put the substantive motion as amended for debate and to the vote.

### 4 NOTICE OF MOTIONS

Upon the vote the amendment was carried with the votes being recorded as follows:

#### For:

Councillors: Ian Albert, Daniel Allen, Kate Aspinwall, Clare Billing, Judi Billing, Ruth Brown, Val Bryant, Paul Clark, Sam Collins, Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg, Gary Grindal, Keith Hoskins, Mike Hughson, Steve Jarvis, Ian Mantle, Lisa Nash, Sue Ngwala, Sam North, Helen Oliver, Sean Prendergast, Adem Ruggiero-Cakir, Carol Stanier, Martin Stears-Handscomb, Terry Tyler and Tom Tyson.

Total: 25

### Against:

Councillor: David Barnard, John Bishop, George Davies, Steve Deakin-Davies, Morgan Derbyshire, Faye Frost, Jean Green, Simon Harwood, Terry Hone, Tony Hunter, David Levett, Jim McNally, Ian Moody, Gerald Morris, Michael Muir, Mike Rice, Valentine Shanley, Claire Strong, Richard Thake and Michael Weeks.

Total: 20

#### Abstain:

There were no abstentions.

This now being the substantive motion.

Upon a recorded vote it was:

#### **RESOLVED:**

This Council notes the forthcoming publication of the Devolution and Recovery White Paper from Government. It supports the consideration of Unitary options and other alternative arrangements. However, it does not support any particular option as to do so would be premature. It awaits the publication of the White Paper before coming to any conclusions.

The Council additionally notes the public statements of the Leader and Deputy Leader as well as a number of administration group members which state opposition to a single unitary authority for Hertfordshire.

It believes that any change to the current local government structure must be carried through in the interests of the residents of North Hertfordshire.

Furthermore, to ensure adequate representation of the electorate this council believes that with any changes to the current arrangements a more representative voting system should be introduced and that, in the case of any Unitary options, properly resourced democratic bodies are planned for the unparished areas.

Council instructs officers and the Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council to work with other authorities to investigate all the options that meet these criteria and to seek the views of residents so that we are prepared to respond to the White Paper when it is published.

It notes the progress of collaborative working between all the Hertfordshire Districts and Boroughs, the County Council, the Local Enterprise Partnership and MHCLG to achieve the best possible recovery and future investment for the County and reaffirms its support for this work.

The recorded votes were as follows:

#### For:

Councillors: Ian Albert, Daniel Allen, Kate Aspinwall, David Barnard, Clare Billing, Judi Billing, John Bishop, Ruth Brown, Val Bryant, Paul Clark, Sam Collins, George Davies, Steve Deakin-Davies, Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg, Faye Frost, Jean Green, Gary Grindal, Simon Harwood, Terry Hone, Keith Hoskins, Mike Hughson, Tony Hunter, Steve Jarvis, David Levett, Ian Mantle, Jim McNally, Ian Moody, Gerald Morris, Michael Muir, Lisa Nash, Sue Ngwala, Sam North, Helen Oliver, Sean Prendergast, Mike Rice, Adem Ruggiero-Cakir, Valentine Shanley, Carol Stanier, Martin Stears-Handscomb, Terry Tyler, Tom Tyson and Michael Weeks.

Total: 42

# Against:

There were no votes against the motion.

#### Abstain:

Councillors Morgan Derbyshire, Claire Strong and Richard Thake.

Total: 3